Why We Started Thinking About Tiny House Living

Like most of our stereotyped generation, we typically jump into situations immediately without fully thinking, assuming things will work out for the best. Our normal “research before buying” consists of a half-ass Google search which is quickly sidetracked by a cute YouTube video of a fox jumping on a trampoline. I knew this was different when we were still looking into Tiny Homes 4 hours later.

We couldn’t get enough! YouTube videos, pintrest, blogs, documentaries …. we ate up every possible scrap of information we could find. It just made sense.

By no stretch would I consider us environmentally considerate people, at least no more than the next person. Sure, I make sure to double side print, and take my cans to the bottle depot, but you wouldn’t find me chained to a tree to save the rainforest – but this just makes sense! Why heat or air condition a 2000+ sq ft home for two people. Why use all that fuel? Why use all that energy on two people?

The environmental considerations were an added bonus, the economic benefits was what really caught our attention. Do two people really need a 2000+ sq ft house?

Renting, and one day wanting to own our home of our own, we currently spend $1900 a month. This includes electricity, internet, water, heat and rent for a one bedroom home. That is $1900 a month that isn’t going to our savings account towards a mortgage or towards building our own equity. But as new graduates, unsure of the location we want to settle in, thats the price we pay – and thats pretty average. Even if we knew the location we wanted to settle, we would have to have a mortgage for a $300,000+ house – something we desperately want to avoid on our road to financial freedom.

A tiny house just checks off all of those boxes, portable/easy to relocate (to an extent) and the possibility of  being mortgage free. Those two huge reasons kept us thinking for weeks, until we finally decided to pursue this idea!

What about you?

Are you thinking about Tiny House or Small House living? Are you living it right now?

11 thoughts on “Why We Started Thinking About Tiny House Living

  1. Hi, My daughter and I are looking at building ourselves a tiny house. We would really appreciate any kind of suggestions at getting started. We have about 10,000.00 to start off with and lots of family to help with the construction. Where can I buy a flatbed trailer for starters? We need something that we can tow when we decided to move to northern NB.

  2. I just came across your site. I am very interested in doing this, sometime in the future. Good Luck and looking forward to your progress reports!

  3. P.S. I think you are smart to take steps to avoid paying $1900/mo. to someone else to keep a roof over your heads. Much better to build equity for your future if you want to enjoy life.

  4. I don’t know what kind of composting toilet you are planning on installing, but I have had two commercial toilets and neither one worked as it should have. I hope you will do lots of research before buying and have better luck than I have. Also, they are quite large and cumbersome and take up too much space in a tiny bathroom.One problem is that our Canadian winters (I live in Manitoba) are not conducive to their use. Many years ago I lived in a house-trailer in rural New Brunswick and the weather was just as severe as it is here. N.S. is probably about the same. Your floor should be warm with the way you have insulated it and 2 x 6 framing should give you warm walls. All the best on the rest of your build. Hope I am able to follow your progress.

  5. It sounds to me like you really get the benefits.
    I am so glad you are jointing the community!
    Best of luck with your build.
    xo
    Laura
    THO

Leave a comment